Software

Just a short introduction. My name is Jeff Collins and I have been a Building Inspector for a little over three years. I have been in the construction industry for about 20 years now. I have been talking about starting a home inspection business for a little over a year and with the new laws here I am. I just got word back on my license yesterday, HI1811.
I have been looking at the options for software for months. I guess I am stuck between Home Inpsector Pro and Home Guage. Does one have better templates than the other. One of the things that I like about Home guage is the way that the pictures are wiht the comments.

Jeff, you have the two top choices in software that you are talking about. Both programs do the same thing, so it is best to pick which one you are comfortable using. I prefer HIP, but there will be others that will chime in and give reasons for using HG.

The best thing to do is to get trials of each and use them on an inspection, then you will choose HIP with confidence.:mrgreen::mrgreen:

The reason I posted this under Florida was to see what the local inspectors are using. Which one would have better templates available.

Hey Jeff. HG has about 40 templates, out of the box, including a NACHI template that follows the SOPs. You can create your own templates too and tweek/edit the pre-installed ones to meet your needs. Both HIP and HG are highly customizable. I’m with you on the picture feature though. Just download them both and see which one you like.

Only if you really didn’t test them both:mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:

Wait till you see all the “great (needed) support” comments for HIP:p (Just messin with the Hippies ;-))

Jeff, NEVER lump yourself in with everyone else! That is how guys go out of business fast. Try them all out and decide which one you like. This applies regardless of whatever rhetoric I, Bob E., or Robt. Newland throw at you. The best software is the one that produces the report that you want to throw out there.:wink: