WindMit Requirements Change?

I did a Home Inspection & Wind-Mit as requested by my client. I just received an email asking if I was a architect or engineer or building code official. I told him I was not but there is a section for home inspectors on the Wind-Mit form. He stated he will not get a discount if its done by a home inspector. He provided me another form which his insurance company gave him. “Florida Peninsula Insurance Company.” There is no section for a Home Inspector to sign off. Thus not allowing any Wind-Mit credits according to the insurance. The form is Florida Building Code Shutter Mitigation Verification Affidavit. So now my Wind-Mit is invalid for this insurance company and my client is forced to hire the insurance company engineer. Great!
Comments anyone? :frowning:

Robert,
My sources tell me Florida Peninsula accepts the regular form… I just double checked with her. Can you please post a copy of what you have? I would like to research more. tx.

Condominium policies (HO6) policies do not generally grant wind mitigation credits to the insured’s individual unit policies, only the master association building policy. Most companies allow them to be used for shutter verification as most companies are filed to give a shutter discount. That said, it is up to each individual company and their own underwriting rules as to what form is used for the shutter credit and who can qualify it. If the agent is saying the above, then the client will need one of the above to validate their shutter discount. Sorry

Here is the form the OP is referring to (CIT-26). Citizens has replaced this with a newer form on their site. I always understood these forms to be used on commercial (non-residential) buildings, but never checked into this since I can’t sign one either. Maybe others would know more about this.

oh! I was under the impression from the post he was referring to a specific form from Florida Peninsula…

Robert, I am guessing you inspected a Condo?