RC Roof inspection robot.

Newbie here and still working on the certifications to get me started up. Almost there, but want to have everything in order before I print and publish my business.

My question relates to separating yourself from your competitors. There is only one inspector in my area using a Drone (and is not certified to do so) so I’m looking to add a different approach to drone technology for roof inspections.

I am looking at one of the roof inspection rc controlled robots. Pricey, but I think it adds a different dimension for the inspection and provides closer visuals.

Questions are: Has anyone ever used these and if so, what do they recommend?

Have never seen one, so I can’t comment other than to offer the following:

Roof inspection is not only a visual, but a tactile process as well. You may see an area that looks different from the rest of the shingle, but in many instances, until you get right up close and rub the area with your fingers to see if there’s a divot, and rub harder to see if granules break loose, you may have a hard time saying for sure that a discolored area is a hail strike.

IMO, the only time a drone or robot would be better would be if you simply cannot get on the roof (icy, wet, too steep, or too fragile). Otherwise, direct observation while walking the roof is still the best way. Also, a drone or robot will not sense “spongy” areas.

I don’t walk slopes greater than 8/12, and I don’t step off a ladder 20 feet off the ground, but I still manage to walk the roofs on 90% of the homes I inspect. For the remainder, I call a local roofing company who is only too glad to come out and inspect the difficult ones.

Thank you for the reply. I understand the best way to observe is walking and touch. This is an option I’m looking into when those options are not the best for safety. I’ll try to load a picture of what I’m looking at.