Using a Drone..

How much time does using a drone add to a home inspection. Thanks!

Ed DeRousse
BEST CHOICE HOME INSPECTIONS

Depends on how you transport it, if in its case in the travel mode and you have to sit it up on site and then place it back in the travel mode to return home I spend an easy hour to the job take the pics and return home.

Just time on site I spend 1/2 hour taking good pics. If your prices for an inspection are low its not worth the time spent. Time is money and I expect to be paid for my time and charge accordingly.;-):wink:

A lot less time than a hospital stay. You won’t use one on every roof, just the ones you shouldn’t be walking on anyway.

1 Like

Shucks I did not know there was such a thing

There is such a thing for most of us. Even I know when to bow to the beast, and I’ve been walking roofs for 40 yrs.:cool:

Yes I Know I have been slowing up a bit my self been using the drones more these days. And I hate it;-)

Or paying for damage: too steep, too fragile, or too high… stay off. Sometimes you can legally use a drone if you have one and are qualified.

Once you make the effort to learn about drones and their regulations in your area you won’t be asking such basic questions.

Charley’s mule is getting older and is now beginning to refuse to walk some roofs. Charley, put on your golf shoes, walk those roofs and let that old mule rest. It’ll be good, you won’t have to carry him up the ladder anymore.

You so funny!!! Your letting my secret out as I have been wearing golf shoes for years.:wink:

1 Like

15-20 minutes on site tops which includes setup and takedown. Actual flight time is 7-10 minutes on a 3500-ish sq/ft building. Pre-inspection (off site), less than 1 minute when in uncontrolled airspace.

If in controlled airspace where I have a FAA cert. of authorization (COA) that does NOT require ATC clearance, again…1 minute pre-inspection.