All Collections
CPI Certification versus State Home Inspector's License
CPI Certification versus State Home Inspector's License

Learn about how InterNACHI's certification program may differ from your state's requirements for a license.

Written by Bogdan Kharchenko
Updated over a week ago

If you live in a state that requires its home inspectors to be licensed, here are some important things you should know regarding your training through InterNACHI®:

  1. The requirements to earn your InterNACHI® Certified Professional Inspector (CPI)® credential are likely different from the requirements needed to obtain your state home inspector's license.  To find out more about your state's requirements, you can visit and select your state.

  2. Your state will probably require you to successfully pass a national exam.  A few states have approved InterNACHI's Online Inspector Exam for this purpose.  You're also required to pass it to become an InterNACHI® Certified Professional Inspector®, and re-take it every three years to maintain your membership in good standing.  This unproctored online exam is free for members and non-members alike.

If you have further questions about how to become a licensed home inspector in your state using your training through InterNACHI®, email  

Did this answer your question?